[DOGSEESGOD – Post 3] Queer and Ally Casting

Hello-hello again!

So a few months ago, I saw a clickbait titled “10 Brave Straight Actors who played Gay Characters.” I was immediately turned off by it. I’m sure the author, and the actors they referred to, mean well. But honestly, I can think of several people who are truly brave – namely the Queer people who lived these experiences: Harvey Milk, Marsha P. Johnson, Dianna Boileau. The Black and Latinx people who created the community of Ball Culture. There are many more brave people whom I’ve learned about in Transgender Warriors by Leslie Feinberg and How to Make Love in a Canoe: Sex in Canada by Jeff Pearce, which rejzndkliv cast member Thinh Nguyen co-devised for Theatre Erindale in 2016.


When I submitted for the Hamilton Fringe Festival, I knew immediately that I needed a cast with LGBTQ+ actors. As a gay director, I want to see people like me onstage telling our story for the Queer community. I want us to know that we should never be held back because of our sexuality. I want us to be proud of who we are.

If I’m all about Queer pride, then why invite non-Queer actors to audition?

When I first learned of Pride a lot of what it stood for appealed to me. However, I wasn’t too thrilled about one thing: a lack of acknowledgement for our Allies. In my family of 6 kids, I’m the only who’s gay. Since coming out 8 years ago, my 4 sisters and brother were always there for me. To leave our Allies unacknowledged would be a disrespect to the people who support me.

But there are other reasons too. I am of the firm belief that separation from the majority leads to community isolation. I agree that the Queer community should take pride and leadership in our distinction – to speak to us, for us. Believe me, I definitely believe in this: as a Chinese-Filipino Canadian raised in a predominantly white community, I needed this leadership or risk having my heritage fade away.

I want us to be proud of who we are.

But I also believe that communication with the majority is key to creating an understanding between us. Besides, we live in a society where people of different sexual orientations and gender identities live, work, and play. Or at least we should strive for that.

However, there’s another reason to inviting Allies to audition – one that is extremely important.

When I came out of the closet, I went under the label of bisexual even though I knew I was gay. I wasn’t ready to leave the safety of heterosexuality. I realize now that bisexuals have problems of their own – I was naïve. In thinking of my 17-year-old self, I wondered about Queer actors who aren’t ready to come out, or can’t because it’s not safe. The ones who can only identify as an Ally, yet wish to be around people like them. I opened the casting call to Allies to create a safe space for people like them.


In giving precedence to Queer actors yet opening my casting to Allies, I clearly accomplished 3 of my objectives:

  1. To have Queer actors tell our stories;
  2. To acknowledge our Allies;
  3. And to maintain a bridge between the Queer and non-Queer communities.

But what about my last one: did an Ally-labelled Queer actor audition? I don’t know, but at least I provided them a safe space. But even if I did know, I wouldn’t tell.

I have many stories to tell. Theirs is not mine to say.

As always, thank you for reading. Talk soon!

Anthony


DOG SEES GOD is a Queer coming-of-age story told by the teenage versions of Charlie Brown and the Peanuts gang. rejzndkliv’s surreal interpretation is a fascinating take on the script, and through the diversity of the cast, explores social topics not commonly seen in theatre or film!

If you have any questions, please ask. Yours may be the topic of our next blog!

Please support DOG SEES GOD at https://fwyc.ca/campaigns/dog-sees-god-2017-hamilton-fringe-festival

Thank you in advance for your support!

Leave a comment